25 yards of pure quandary

Over the weekend I got a very good deal on a skirt like this from Gypsy Magda. It’s 25 yards of froofy lightweight cotton, and I bought it in white specifically so I could dye it. It’s big and crinkly and swirly, and I look forward to wearing it.

However. How to dye it? My initial reaction was to solid-dye all of it and then dip just the lower edge in a darker color. While that would be cool, I’m not exactly sure if that’s what I wish to achieve. I do already have a black skirt with blue trim. Maybe it would be nice to have something different.

I could solid-dye the skirt and then take advantage of its crinkliness by squishing it together and binding it with a spiral of twine.

Or, I could tie-dye the skirt in multiple colors.

Or, I could do sewn patterns on it and draw them up, as in some shibori techniques, and then dye the skirt.

Or… hmm!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen B.
    Mar 13, 2007 @ 20:04:00

    Y’know, another shopper was looking at the skirts with the same thoughts, and all I could say was that you could buy a colored skirt and then dye it, too.Aha! Cotton + immersion dyeing = perfect for shibori. Am willing to consult on tools & technique (and tying, if you decide to go for a small pattern).

  2. Vashti
    Mar 13, 2007 @ 20:16:00

    I was thinking it might be cool to sew a stylized wave pattern all the way around the skirt… something with a simple repeat… and draw up the threads. Do you think that would work?

