What did I do to deserve… this?

“This” meaning two veils the color of a McDonald’s Shamrock Shake. I mean… ewwww. They are quite sickly. And my batch of purple veils came out an anemic lilac instead of a robust grape.

In general I’ve had very good results with the Jacquard Acid Dyes. The blacks are black; the navy blue was intense; the silver gray was very pretty; and the scarlet would get you in trouble at church. But despite using the same process on the Purple and Kelly Green dyes, I was very disappointed. I was careful to weigh my fabric and dye, and put in 4% of the weight of goods-worth of dye… I maintained my temperature around 180 to 200 (although the purple kind of took off on me at one point).

Now I have to figure out what to do with them. I’m thinking shibori overdye, but frankly I’m not sure what color can save these less-than-impressive monsters!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dancing Wolf
    Sep 19, 2007 @ 00:08:00

    If the green is the sort of light, mint green that I’m thinking, it might look good if you overdyed in black, either doing Shibori like you planned, or some other tie dye. It might look ok if only a little green is showing in some sort of spiderwebby or stripe pattern. Navy blue overdye might work too.For the lilac, if you can figure out how to get the original purple you wanted, having some of the lilac showing on darker purple might be cool. Good luck!

  2. Vashti
    Sep 19, 2007 @ 15:16:00

    You have pretty much read my mind. I’ve got a Forest Green fiber reactive that I think might tame the mint, and I’m considering a deep blue-violet to pep up the lilac. Have to see how this turns out.

  3. glennis
    Sep 28, 2007 @ 21:18:00

    how about trying some discharging and overdyeing or even just discharging?

  4. Vashti
    Sep 28, 2007 @ 21:47:00

    I have not really branched out into discharging. I don’t have the best ventilated workspace, frankly, and I’m a bit worried about the fumes from thiourea dioxide.

