the importance of samples

If you are just a hobby-dyer like myself, maybe you don’t spend a lot of time dyeing samples. It’s time-consuming and not always totally indicative of your final result (the shade of a 24″ square may not equal that of a 108″ by 45″ veil because you can’t do exactly the math to say how much dye is equivalent — not to mention the time and temperature variables).

However, I’ve started to try to do samples of any new Procion MX dye I try, because the color on silk is often so different from that on cotton. Case in point: Dharma’s Charcoal Gray. I used it on silk with acetic acid and got… quite a lovely shade of puce! Uh huh. Samples are a good thing.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mandi aka Fabric Princess
    Dec 06, 2007 @ 15:38:00

    yes…this is why I am giving up on MX for silk. I have too much to do to make all the necessary samples! Good for you to do it…some people are nice and organized (I am not lol)I’m trying a new dye. Has to be steamed, but that’s no biggie. I’m just glad to get colors I can mix and predict when I look at dye in the cup!

  2. Vashti
    Dec 06, 2007 @ 15:45:00

    You must have a steamer then! What setup do you like for steaming?

  3. Natalia
    Dec 06, 2007 @ 16:15:00

    I wonder how much of the variation is due to the specific fabric, amount of acid, temperature, etc. I used the Dharma Charcoal Grey when I went on my dyeing binge a couple of months ago, and I got a solid neutral grey. I wonder if I just got lucky. 🙂

  4. Mandi aka Fabric Princess
    Dec 07, 2007 @ 23:23:00

    I have 2 homemade steamers. One giant canning kettle, ala the Dharma instructions. And another vertical one made from duct work that I wrapped with an insulation blanket. That sits on a pot of water on a hot plate. Got those instructions online…I can find them again if you want them. I like that one…I can do 45-60″ wide fabric in it.

