Great site title, interesting site

How can you not like a website called WormSpit.com?

Because, let’s face it, that’s what silk is, right? Silkworm spit. Not elegant. Also, the pupae inside the silk cocoon are usually killed before the silk is reeled. Not at all nice. Making silk could be considered “mean”, just as making leather is “mean”. But I guess I don’t feel all that bad for the bugs… they are, after all, bugs, and they are treated like tiny royalty until their deaths. In addition, even if you let them grow up, get out of their cocoons, and live on… they’d only live a few weeks more.

Perhaps I’ll be reincarnated as a silk moth for my crimes against bugdom. Until then, I will continue to appreciate and dye silk.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Michael
    Jan 02, 2008 @ 01:22:00

    Howdy!Beautiful dye work! I really love the gold and black. I’m Michael, from wormspit.com. I’m going to add you to my reading list – you do neat stuff.

