not user friendly!

Out of curiosity I ordered a set of Colorhue dyes from Silk Things. Supposedly this is a dye that can be applied to silk which requires no setting chemicals or heat. I had seen a few promising remarks on dye blogs, so I bought the sampler. It says it comes “with instructional booklet”.

HA!

The “instructional booklet” does not say how the dyes should be applied. It gives no proportions for diluting them, though the website had implied they were concentrates, no instructions on batching time (if any), nothing. It’s the most useless product insert I’ve seen in a while.

I can only conclude that they want you to drop another $25 on their instructional DVDs! I am just plain disgusted. The website specifically states “There is an excellent instruction guide contained in the sampler which covers clean up, storage, basic application techniques and general handling of the dyes.” Riiiight.

One irate email, coming up.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Darlene
    Jul 14, 2008 @ 13:37:00

    I see I’m not the only one who’s had a very dissapointing experience with these. I had practically the same reaction to their instruction book.There are mixing instructions on their site though. “The ‘Colorhue’ is a very concentrated dye—approximately 15 to 20 drops of the concentrated dye in a 1/2 cup water will make medium color.”Batching? there is no batching required; results are supposed to be permanent instantly. That was somewhat true, though I still thought the results were sad.As to their mixing ratio : Yeah, right… I had to double that amount and still got some pretty pathetic results compared to what I’m used to. And consider the cost of dyeing with these! just not practical considering how much yardage we dye.I’m not sure who the audience for these would be except for somebody who’d have to occasionally dye a tiny bit of fluff. Your mileage might vary of course. As I understand it, Glennis D. has had some success with these for certain applications, but I don’t think they are part of her regular dyeing arsenal either.

  2. Joanne
    Jul 15, 2008 @ 23:51:00

    I bought a set of Colorhue dyes at a quilt show 2 years ago. A few months later I mixed one of the colors with shaving cream and did some silk screen samples. Those turned out nicely. I have not done anything else with the dyes. I have a dye painting book that uses ‘instant set’ dyes. I plan to try the Colorhue dyes using the book instructions at some point.I would be happy to look at the instructions in the books and see if there is info that might help.

