me to dye: you are FIRED!

Many of the dyes in my Procion MX collection are things that sounded interesting, so I bought a small quantity just to try them out. Some of these things have been great successes. Others… not so much.

Dharma’s “Bronze”, for example. When I use it on silk, what I get is sickly green! To me bronze is a brownish color that’s heading towards copper but doesn’t go that far. But no dice on silk.

I’m also consistently depressed by my results with Teal. On silk it comes out dull, lackluster, without the blue spark I want to see underlying the gray-green tones.

Emerald Green has the opposite problem. There’s so much turquoise in this dye that I always get blue spots when I use it. Teal and Emerald, go off in the corner and try to work out your problems, m’kay?

And browns?!! Don’t get me started! Golden Brown, give up your title! You are hereby named burnt orange. Rust Brown? C’mon, you are secretly orange-red. Chocolate Brown, you sounded good, but I’m trading you in for Truffle or Brazilnut.

Hey you dyes… you are FIRED!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natalia
    Jul 21, 2008 @ 16:56:00

    I was playing with dye to try and match my new orange-and-bronze bedlah.Among the colors I was playing with was the Chocolate brown Procion. It came out a lovely maroon which is in no way “chocolate brown” and doesn’t quite work with the brown of the costume. I was using it with acid and heat setting, but was going to try using it with soda ash instead to try for a truer color. From your post, it sounds like I shouldn’t expect it to work any better that way, should I? 😉

  2. Vashti
    Jul 21, 2008 @ 17:02:00

    Awww… the Procion MX browns just bite the big one on silk. I’ve had zero luck getting a true brown on silk unless I correct by adding some blue dye as well. But doing that requires quite a lot of samples to find the right ratio.I did have a lot more luck with this correction on dark browns instead of light brown. So maybe you’d like to give it a shot… assuming you have the time and patience available! Good luck….

  3. tiedyejudy
    Jul 24, 2008 @ 12:05:00

    Gee… you just mentioned 3 colors I have come to love to use when I dye cotton with LWI technique! I just got bronze and came out with a great scrunch! Must be the silk… I also found that using rust brown and chocolate brown together helps to improve the colors, but again on cotton, not silk.Happy dyeing!Judy

