Citric acid solution storage

So I haven’t been able to do much dye work for a few months. Between crises at work and at home, I’ve just been busy. Then the moment I wasn’t busy… I picked up a nasty cold virus. So today I’m madly trying to catch up.

The first thing I needed to check was whether I had enough citric acid solution. I opened the jug to check, and… ewwww!  Citric acid is apparently the perfect environment for mold. Can’t recall the last time I saw such a layer of fuzz on top of a liquid… well, okay, I think it was my work coffee much after I forgot to rinse it before a vacation. Bleah! I believe I’ll be making a note to only make small amounts of citric acid solution in future unless I have room to store it in the fridge!

Comments are closed.

